• Latest Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Thank you, Dad

philsfathersdayWhen I think of the greatness of this great plan I fall on my knees before God the Father, from whom all fatherhood, earthly or heavenly, derives its name… (Eph 3:14-15).

The date was October 19, 1993. After years and years (and years) of futility, the Phillies went from worst to first and and were in the World Series. Watching the Phillies play (and lose) was part of my childhood. I even remember being sent to my room for a nap on Sunday afternoons, only to sit at the top of the stairs listening to the Phillies game on the TV downstairs.

And now they are in the World Series? I never thought I would see the day. Well, on that day, my dad, a lifelong Phillies fan, came home from work with 2 tickets to that night’s Game 3. It was the first World Series game played in Philadelphia in a decade and my dad had tickets. I couldn’t believe it. But it was what happened next that inspires this story…

My dad loaded my brother and I into the ever-dependable Subaru Justy (that car desires a blog all of its own). I was confused. 3 of us in the car. Only 2 tickets. We pulled up to Veteran’s Stadium. Now what? He handed the tickets to my brother and I, told us to have fun, and said that he would be back at the end of the game.

It was an incredible night. Our tickets were approximately 4,302,381 feet away from home plate and had a rain delay before the game even started. Didn’t matter. I lost my voice before they were even finished the starting lineups. It was incredible.

Even now as I reflect on that night, I’m amazed. My dad gave up a dream night for me. My dad made many such sacrifices for me growing up. Some of them I know. Some of them I don’t. For all of them, I am grateful. Dad, thank you. I love you.

As I think of the wonderfully, amazingly terrifying task that God has given me of raising three little kids into a Godly man and two Godly women, I think back of my dad. May the love you showed me and the memories I have of my childhood be true of my children. And more than anything, may I have the wisdom and grace to point my kids to Jesus like you did for me. Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

Leave a Reply

