Book Review: Radical Together by David Platt

I am writing this review from Lusaka, Zambia, where my wife and I are anxiously awaiting to have our daughter placed with us for adoption. This process is full of ups and downs, highs and lows. But those are the hurdles of pursuing our daughter.

I start my review of Radical Together by David Platt with that precursor for this reason. Even the good, honorable and God-honoring task of caring for the orphan – one in particular in this case – is just one small action that flows from our adoption as sons of Holy God.

Picking up where his wildly popular and bestselling Radical left off, Platt calls us not to just nice, good little tasks, but to individually, and as a church, trade in our lives for the sake of the gospel among the nations.

Filled with stories from his own experience, from that of members of his congregation and from others who have taken the Radical Experiment, Platt paints a picture of the church unleashed to fulfill God’s purposes in the world by the renewing work of the Spirit in the world as the God’s Word goes forth into the world – and all for the glory of God.

At this point, let me offer a word of caution. I am afraid that the idea of trading our lives for the sake of the gospel will be appealing to us all – just so long as it remains talk and not practice. Radical Together, like Radical before it, will probably be a bestseller. But to be sure, that is neither the purpose of the content of the book nor of the author, David Platt. My challenge for you, if you dare to read it (and I mean this – I put off reading Radical for months and months because I wasn’t sure I wanted to deal with the implications personally), is to read it slowly and purposefully. Don’t rush through it. Read one chapter a day and give yourself time and space to reflect on the words. And then go before Holy God and ask him to make your life a radical testimony of God’s redeeming and sending grace to the nations.

Read the Introduction and Chapter 1 of Radical Together


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

