Jesus: The Great King

For the church where I serve as Executive Pastor, I have been developing a study on the kingdom of God. I want to invite you in wrestling through this incredibly big, incredibly wonderful vision of the kingdom of God as I post my notes along the way. But any discussion of the kingdom of God must be begin with a look at him who is the king.

Jesus is the king. From his birth to his death, the gospels set forth that Jesus is the King.

  • At his birth – Magi inquire of Herod, “Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star in the east and have come to worship him” (Matt. 2:2).
  • At his trial – “Pilate then went back inside the palace, summoned Jesus and asked him, ‘Are you the king of the Jews?’ ‘Is that your own idea,’ Jesus asked, ‘or did others talk to you about me?’ ‘Am I a Jew?’ Pilate replied. ‘It was your people and your chief priests who handed you over to me. What is it you have done?’ Jesus said, ‘My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jews. But now my kingdom is from another place.’ ‘You are a king, then!’ said Pilate. Jesus answered, ‘You are right in saying I am a king. In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me’” (John 18:33-37).
  • At his death – “Pilate had a notice prepared and fastened to the cross. It read: JESUS OF NAZARETH, THE KING OF THE JEWS” (John 19:19).

Jesus is the great king. At his birth he was recognized as king. At his death he was recognized as king. And now, in victory, he reigns as king, sitting on his throne in heaven at the right hand of God the Father. And, as we dive into the kingdom of God, it is Jesus who is being established on all the earth as the great king.

Leave a Reply

