Bow before Little Debbie

Now, I feel like I have to make this disclaimer up front: I am from the Philly area where our idea of a packaged baked good is Tastykake, maker of some of the world’s great snacks from the Peanut Butter Kandy Kakes to Butterscotch Krimpets to their strawberry pie. Amazing.

I give that disclaimer because it is with great hesitancy that I talk about the “other guys.” However, outside of the Philly area, the prepackaged baked goods industry is dominated by one company: Little Debbie. Of all of their products, about the only one that I think is any good is the Raisin Creme Pie. But this week, in my reading of Scripture, the Little Debbie Raisin Creme Pie surfaced in a new way.

If you have never studied the book of Hosea, it’s quite fascinating. Hosea had, quite possibly, the most raw deal of any character in all the Bible. See, God told him to go and marry a prostitute with the promise that she would cheat on him. I love my wife dearly, but I’m not sure how I would have been able to deal with knowing before we even married that she would cheat on me. (Quick aside: I hope I never have to know how that feels!) But when she does cheat on him, she leaves him and returns to her life of prostitution. At that point, God tells Hosea to continue to love her, pursue her and buy her back out of the life of prostitution.

Hosea’s life, however, was not just some weird punishment from God. Rather, through the prophet’s life and marriage, we gain some insight into the heart of God. See, the book of Hosea is not really about Hosea and Gomer. It’s about God and Israel, his chosen people. Throughout Scripture, the people of God are referred to as his bride. Yet, like Gomer, Israel – and now the church – have forsaken him, committing spiritual adultery as we bow to impotent idols.

Which brings us back to the Little Debbie Raisin Creme Pies. Read Hosea 3:1, “The Lord said to me, ‘Go, show your love to your wife again, though she is loved by another and is an adulteress. Love her as the Lord loves the Israelites, though they turn to other gods and love the sacred raisin cakes.” Yes, the Israelites were forsaking the God who saved them from slavery in Egypt so they could eat some Little Debbie snacks!

How foolish that seems. They were worshipping and bowing before the Little Debbie snack gods. Yet, aren’t we guilty of many of the same sins? We serve the Holy, Creator God – the One who bought us out of our life of sin through Christ just as Hosea did for Gomer. And yet, like Gomer and like Israel, we continue to pursue other things, hoping and trust in that which is lifeless and hopeless.

“Lord, forgive us for pursuing stupid raisin cakes rather than trusting in you and worshipping you alone. Thank you for pursuing us and buying us back out of our sin. Amen.”

Interact: You may not be literally bowing before raisin cakes, but how are you forsaking Christ to bow before other gods?

One Response

  1. I’m a Hostess fan myself. Interesting parallel with the OT rain cakes. Never paid attention to that before. But Israel’s history as well as our own does seem to go back to food –a lot!
    Hope you had a good trip moving to your new job in Florida. I don’t think I ever got to meet you when I visited at GC. God bless.

Leave a Reply

